subscribe: Posts | Comments | Email

USAC Midget Season 2009 Review


The 2009 USAC MOPAR National Midget season was a tale of two Brads and a Bryan.  The championship point battle came down to Brad Kuhn and Brad Sweet with RW Motorsports driver Kuhn winning by a scant eight points!  Kasey Kahne driver Sweet held the edge in race victories over Kuhn, three to one and in Top Five finishes, thirteen to twelve, but Kuhn had the edge in Top Ten finishes, twenty-one to seventeen.

The 2009 series featured twenty-four races; twelve drivers posted race wins.  Bryan Clauson led the way with seven victories; he scored his first win June 13 at Lawrenceburg and then won June 14 at Kokomo.  Clauson posted a three-race win streak, the seasons’ longest, by winning at IRP July 23 and both Belleville Highbanks races, July 31 and August 1.  He won at Angell Park August 30 and won the season finale Turkey Night GP at Irwindale on November 26 as he won seven of the season’s final fifteen races.  Clauson ranked eighth in points with thirteen Top Five and Top Ten finishes.

Sweet (winner in the Manzanita opener February 21, at Salem on August 15, and at Eldora on September 27) was tied for second ranking in wins with Bobby Santos III.  Santos won consecutive races at Iowa Speedway (June 19) and Toledo Speedway (July 3) and won at Phoenix on November 12.

Two-time racewinners were fourth in points Jerry Coons, Jr. (February 25 Las Vegas and June 10 Gas City I-69), third in points Darren Hagen (February 28 Perris and April 4 Columbus), and fifth in points Bobby East (March 14 Thunder Hill and July 14 Twin Cities).  Joining champion Kuhn as winners of one race each were Caleb Armstrong, Chuck Gurney, Jr., Tracy Hines, Kevin Swindell, and Josh Wise.

Leave a Reply