subscribe: Posts | Comments | Email

NASCAR Touring Series 2009 Review


The 2009 NASCAR Camping World East Series title was won by Ryan Truex.  Truex led the series in wins with three and in Top Five finishes with seven, a record that placed him 34 points ahead of runnerup Eddie MacDonald.  MacDonald won once, and although he led the series with ten Top Ten finishes to eight for Truex, Eddie had only four Top Five finishes.

Seven drivers won the eleven races comprising the 2009 East season.  Behind the three wins scored by Truex were Matt DiBenedetto and Brett Moffitt with two wins apiece; Moffitt finished third in points while DiBenedetto ran only a partial schedule.  Single wins were taken by MacDonald, veteran Steve Park (fifth in points), Kyle Busch (victor in the East-West combination race on the Iowa Speedway) and part-time East campaigner Brian Ickler.  Toyota won six races, Chevrolet five.

Truex won both road course races (Watkins Glen and Lime Rock) and took victory on the Thompson short track.  The mile oval races at New Hampshire and Dover were won by DiBenedetto (June New Hampshire), MacDonald (September New Hampshire) and Moffitt (Dover).

The 2009 NASCAR Camping World West Series title was taken by Jason Bowles.  Bowles tied with series runnerup Eric Holmes (113 points behind Bowles) for win leadership at three wins apiece but Jason had a clear edge in Top Five finishes (ten to six) and also led the series in Top Ten finishes with twelve to Holmes’ eleven.

Eight drivers won the thirteen races comprising the 2009 West season.  Bowles and Holmes tied at three wins apiece, followed by Paulie Harraka’s two wins (Harraka ranked fourth in points) and single wins for Greg Pursley (third in points with a second-ranking eight Top Five finishes and a tied for second-ranking eleven Top Ten finishes), Kyle Busch (winner of the East-West race at Iowa), Jim Ingelbright, road racer Patrick Long, and David Mayhew.

By the sixth race of the season, a victory for Holmes at Douglas County, Holmes led Bowles in victories three to one, but Holmes was winless thereafter while Bowles responded with consecutive wins at Sears Point and Irwindale.  The three road course races saw Bowles victorious at Sears Point, Jim Inglebright win at Portland, and Long win at Miller Motorsports Park.  The season’s lone race on a mile oval, at Phoenix, went to Bowles.

Among the manufacturers, Toyota won six races to four for Ford and three for Chevrolet.

For the second consecutive season, Andrew Ranger is champion of the NASCAR Canadian Tire Series.  Ranger beat D.J. Kennington to the title by 167 points with a clear edge in wins, six to two, and in Top Ten finishes, thirteen to ten.  Only in Top Five finishes, nine to eight, did Kennington have an edge.  Ron Beauchamp, Jr. was third in points although he tied with Kennington; Beauchamp had no wins to Kennington’s two.

Six drivers won the thirteen races comprising the 2009 Canadian Tire season.  Ranger won six!  Kennington and Scott Steckly (fourth in points as he tied for the series lead in Top Five finishes with nine but posted only nine Top Ten finishes) each won two races.  Single wins went to J.R. Fitzpatrick, Don Thomson, Jr., and Dave Whitlock.

Whitlock won the season’s first race at St. Eustache and Whitlock won the second, at Delaware Speedway in Ontario.  Ranger scored his first win in the season’s third race, held on the Mosport road course.  After Steckly won the fourth race of the season, at St. Eustache, Ranger became the season’s first two-time winner with a victory at Sun Valley.  He then won on the Edmonton airport circuit in the IRL support race.  After another victory by Steckly, this time in Saskatoon, Ranger then won for the second time in 2009 on the Mosport road circuit and then won on the Trois Rivieres street circuit!  Fitzpatrick won the race on the Montreal street circuit and Thomson won at Barrie before Ranger won the penultimate race of the season at Riverside International in Nova Scotia.  Kennington completed the season with a win at Kawartha.

Ranger was the only driver in the 2009 season to win on an oval, a road course, a temporary airport circuit, and on a street circuit!

Among the manufacturers, Ford led in wins with six, all by Ranger.  Dodge posted five victories, with two apiece by Kennington and Steckly and one by Whitlock.  Chevrolet scored two wins, one each by Fitzpatrick and Thomson.

Donny Lia is the champion of the 2009 NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour.  Lia defeated runnerup Ryan Preece by sixteen points, outscoring Preece in wins, four to two, and matching him in Top Ten finishes at eleven.  Preece led the series in Top Five finishes with ten; Lia ranked third with seven.  Ted Christopher finished third in points, seventy-three adrift of Preece, with a second-ranking three wins, a second-ranking eight Top Five finishes, and a fourth-ranking ten Top Ten finishes.

Thirteen races were held during the 2009 Modified Tour season, with seven drivers scoring victories.  Champion Lia led with four wins to three for Christopher and two for Preece.  Single wins were scored by Jimmy Blewett, Erik Rudolph, Ronnie Silk, and Mike Stefanik.

Christopher won the season’s first two races, at Thompson and Stafford, before Blewett won at Stafford on May 22.  Lia scored his first 2009 win at New Hampshire on June 27.  Rudolph then won at Spencer on July 12 before Preece scored back-to-back wins at Riverhead and Stafford on August 1 and August 7.  Lia then posted his own two-race streak, winning the Bristol race on August 19 and at Thompson on September 3.  Ronnie Silk won the September 19 New Hampshire round and Stefanik won at Martinsville on September 27.  Lia then put his stamp on the season with a win at Stafford on October 4 and Christopher concluded the season with a win at Thompson on October 25.

The series held four races on Cup tracks and Lia won two of them (June New Hampshire and Bristol) with Silk (September New Hampshire) and Stefanik (Martinsville) taking the other two.

George Brunnhoelzl III is the champion of the 2009 NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified series.  Brunnhoelzl won the title by 180 points over runnerup Andy Seuss.  GB III held the clear statistical edge over Seuss, taking five wins to Andy’s four, posting an edge in Top Five finishes of thirteen to ten, and an edge in Top Ten finishes of thirteen to eleven.  Third place Burt Myers and fourth place Brian Loftin each posted twelve Top Ten finishes but only one win.

The fourteen-race 2009 season produced six racewinning drivers.  Brunnhoelzl III led in wins with five to four for Andy Seuss, two for Ted Christopher, and one apiece for Luke Fleming, Brian Loftin, and Burt Myers.

Christopher led off the season with a win at Concord.  Seuss then won at South Boston, Christopher won at Caraway, and Seuss won at Lanier.  This pattern ended at race five in Caraway on July 3 as Brunnhoelzl scored his first 2009 win  Fleming then won at Bowman Gray before Brunnhoelzl “won” the Bristol round as the best Southern Modified finisher in the combined Whelen Tour/Southern Tour event.  Loftin then won Caraway and Seuss was victorious at Myrtle Beach.  Brunnhoelzl won at Caraway on September 12 to equal Seuss’ win total.  Seuss then won at Caraway on September 19 to score his fourth 2009 win.  Burt Myers won at Martinsville but Brunnhoelzl finished the season with victories at Ace and Caraway to ice the title.

Leave a Reply